About Us history Links News Legacy


The Ste-Croix 2004 Coordinating Committee is incorporated as a not-for-profit charitable corporation in the United States and Canada.


Directors of the Ste-Croix Legacy Project 2005 - 2006

Chair: Jim Thompson;          Honorary Chair: Keith Guttormsen:

United States Secretary / Treasurer: Suzanne Crawford;      Canadian Secretary / Treasurer: Hugh McKnight

Other Directors at large: Norma Stewart, Vicki Farrell, Allan Gillmor, Ghislain Wheaton



Members List 2004 - 2006

Suzanne Crawford Robbinston, ME
Mark Fleming St. Stephen, NB
Theo Gagnon Acadian Society of New Brunswick
Diane Ganong Director - Ganong's Bros. Ltd.
Edwin Garrett Huguenot Society of Maine
Lyman Harding St. Stephen, NB
Kathryn Hilder Huguenot Society of Canada
Brand Livingstone St. Croix Historical Society
Hugh McKnight St. Stephen, NB
Marie Mullen-Emerson Washington County Technical College
Sheila Simpson St. Andrews Chamber of Commerce
Kaye Small Grand Manan Island, NB
Lee Sochasky Executive Director - St. Croix International Waterway Inc.
Jeannie Stinson St. Andrews, NB
Esma Taylor Deputy Mayor - Town of St. Andrews
Jim Thompson Manager, St. Croix Valley Chamber of Commerce


Government Representatives

Deb Wade United States National Park Service
Nathalie Gagnon Parks Canada
Charles Allain Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Michel Rivard NB Intergovernmental and International Relations
Nat Bowditch Maine Office of Tourism


staff 2004

Norma Stewart Executive Director
Amy Scott Executive Assistant


Your generous contribution will help keep the Legacy Project growing!



Historical Highlights of the Ste-Croix Legacy Committee



On November 7, the Ste-Croix 2004 Coordinating Committee was established.

It is an international organization comprised of Canadians and Americans.




On May 3, the first meeting of the Ste-Croix 2004 Coordinating Committee was held.



On September 23, the Ste-Croix 2004 Coordinating Committee is host to a delegation from Royan, France ( the birth place of Pierre Dugua).



On April 27 a constitution and set of bylaws were accepted in principle by the Ste-Croix 2004 Committee.



The Committee hires its first staff person, becomes incorporated as a not for profit corporation (on both sides of the border) and applies for charitable status in Canada and the United States.

Official requests for special commemorative 2004 coins and stamps is made in both countries.

On June 25, the Ste-Croix 2004 Coordinating Committee officially unveils its logo.

In September, the Committee hosts organizers of other 400th anniversary celebrations in Quebec and Nova Scotia to a day-long networking workshop in Calais.



The Committee launches its official web site and marks the 397th anniversary of the landing at St. Croix Island with a cruise to the island.

The Town of St. Stephen passes a municipal resolution in support of 2004 efforts.

The City of Calais, the Town of St. Andrews and St. Stephen commit to annual funding support.



June 25- July 4th International Celebrations commemorating the 400th Anniversary of the First French settlement in North America.

The International Historic Site at Bayside, New Brunswick, Canada is officially opened.



Also see the "Past Successes" section of this web site for more details.



Your generous contribution will help keep the Legacy Project growing!


Contact Information




PO Box 3

PO Box 805

St. Stephen, N.B. Calais,
E3L 2W9 Maine 04619


Phone:  Sorry we are currently not available by telephone.


Email:   info@digitales.ie


news  /
events  /
www. stecroix2004.org